BJP's Preparations for 2024 Lok Sabha Polls: Major Leadership Changes in Key States

In preparation for the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha Elections, the BJP has unveiled a significant reorganization plan by appointing new state chiefs in Telangana, Punjab, Jharkhand, and Andhra Pradesh. This move aims to strengthen the party's presence and strategy in these states as they gear up for the crucial electoral battle.
Latest Updates: The BJP's leadership has initiated significant organizational restructuring of its regional units, signaling a crucial step towards the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections. These changes involve the appointment of G Kishan Reddy, Sunil Jakhar, and Babulal Marandi as presidents in Telangana, Punjab, and Jharkhand respectively. This strategic move aims to streamline and strengthen the party's presence in these states in anticipation of the upcoming elections.

In a significant announcement, the BJP has appointed D Purandeswari as the new president of Andhra Pradesh, while Etela Rajender has been brought in as the chairperson of the election management committee for the upcoming elections in Telangana. This move necessitates G Kishan Reddy stepping down from his position as the Tourism minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet, as he takes over as the Telangana BJP chief, replacing Bandi Sanjay Kumar.

Moreover, Sunil Jakhar has been named the new state president of Punjab, replacing Ashwani Kumar Sharma. Sunil Jakhar, a senior leader in the BJP, had joined the party after facing disappointment from the Congress when Navjot Singh Sidhu was appointed as the Punjab state chief in May 2022.

In Jharkhand, Babulal Marandi will assume the role of the new BJP state chief, taking over from Deepak Prakash. Marandi, who was the first Chief Minister of Jharkhand, had established his own party called Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) in 2006. He later merged his party with the BJP in 2020.

Daggubati Purandeswari, the daughter of NT Rama Rao, will replace Somu Veeraraju as the new chief of BJP in Andhra Pradesh.

This development highlights the BJP's focus on organizing its presence in Telangana, where several influential newcomers to the party were expressing dissatisfaction with the leadership of Bandi Sanjay Kumar.

According to news agency PTI, Kumar might be included as a minister in the central government during an upcoming reshuffle.

Sunil Jakhar will succeed Ahwani Sharma, while Babulal Marandi will replace Deepak Prakash.

This restructuring is notable for the prominence given to leaders who joined the BJP from other political parties. Jakhar and Rajender left the Congress and BRS respectively to join the BJP, while Purandeswari was previously a member of the Congress and served as a minister in the UPA government.

This development is expected to add more fuel to the speculation surrounding a potential Cabinet reshuffle.